What’s in a Name?

Thursday, June 4, 2009

And in that day you will ask Me nothing. Most assuredly, I say to you, whatever you ask the Father in My name He will give you. (John 16:23)

gigTonight I am going to SOHO to see my cousin. He is touring with a band from overseas and I am really looking forward to meeting up with him because its been years since we’ve seen each other. Because I have this relationship with him I am on the VIP guest list and have special access. Very cool. I can go tonight and say, “Hey, I know Dean and I am on the list.”

In the 16th chapter of John’s gospel, Jesus is preparing the disciples for His Ascension to His Father. They will not be able to have this face to face contact they have been accustomed to. He assures them that if they ask their Heavenly Father, in Jesus’ name, they will receive. They know Jesus  personallyand have a special relationship with Him. Jesus called His disciples friends (John 15:15). Jesus tells them that they have the use of His name for their needs, and it grants them special privileges. St. Paul writes about the power of His name, “That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth…” (Phi. 2:10). And Jesus urges them to make use of His name so “that their joy may be full.”

Through our baptism we also have been granted this privilege. St. Paul preached in Galatians, “For as many of you as were baptized into Christ have put on Christ” (3:27). Of course this doesn’t mean that we go around expecting our whims to be fulfilled like magic. Tonight at the show I am not getting gifts. I am not the center of attraction, but I get to be a part of it in ways others cannot. I also don’t want to be the guy who misuses the privilege and embarrass my cousin.

In the name of Jesus we are able to partake of something much larger. Life is the great ongoing gig and we can get to partake of it with special access.  We can feel honored even though we have done nothing to deserve the VIP status.  What we can do is be grateful and make the most of the blessing, everyday. And we look forward with hope for act II the great gig in the sky (reference thrown in for all of us Pink Floyd fans).

Leave a Reply

